Dr. Motte Blog

Techno Music Berlin Rave The Planet

OutNow: fabric presents Octo Octa & Eris Drew on fabric Records

Partners both in life and music, Eris Drew and Octo Octa (real name Maya Bouldry-Morrison) dig deep into their collection for an all vinyl fabric presents mix, recorded from their cabin in the forest of New Hampshire. Rising through the queer American DJ circuit, Eris Drew and Octo Octa share multiple decades between them actively participating within the dance music community. In the last few years the pair have become powerful voices advocating for queer/trans/non-binary people using a globally renowned platform built off their ecstatic mixes and productions, including a residency on BBC Radio 1 which was launched earlier in 2020.

“This mix is about letting go and trusting that change is good during a time when the very idea of hope is under challenge. We are collage artists so themes are woven throughout the mix, with narratives reappearing via our use of drops, scratches, doubles,” Eris and Maya explain.

Over the course of nearly 70-minutes, the T4T LUV NRG label founders span across house, bassline, UK hardcore and, trance, selecting 21 tracks, some of which have been in their collection for decades. Records by D’Menace, Marascia, Thursday Club and white labels such as Global Method will be made available digitally for the first time.

Known for connecting their music on both a mental and physical level, the pair draw on themes of rituals, witchcraft and shamanism projecting the potential healing magic of the dancefloor. The transformative experience is reflected within their motto ‘Your body is powerful. Be who you wanna be. Let your body be free!’ which can be found on both the vinyl and CD artwork.

Also included are two new original productions from the artist’s respectively. Maya’s contribution ‘River’ is first to appear in the mix and draws from religious connotations with repetitive angelic vocals echoing over her signature breakbeat style. Eris’ ‘Reactiv-8’ appears towards the end as a moment for reflection, leaving listeners to answer ‘do you know for sure it’s not the end?’

Vinyl Tracklist:
A1 Project Sound – Sweet In The Morning (Project Sound Mix) [Hardtrax Records]
A2 G.O.D.– Watch Ya Bass Bins [Urban Dubz Music]
A3 Continuous Cool – Automatic [Cyber Records]
B1 Global Method – Good Life (Orbital Mix) [White label]
B2 Octo Octa – River [fabric Records]
C1 Alec Falconer – New Junk City [EXT]
C2 CZR – Structure [Texture Recordings]
C3 The Two Amigos – Everybody Get Up (Vocal Mix) [Footwork Records]
D1 Eris Drew – Reactiv-8 [fabric Records]
D2 Marascia – Genetically Changed [No Label Records]

Get it on Bandcamp:

CD & Digital Tracklist:
1. Project Sound – Sweet In The Morning (Project Sound Mix) [Hardtrax Records]
2. 515 Connection – Positive & Negative [TDSR]
3. RM Project – Rock 2 Tha Beat (Greenery Mix) [Smokin’ Rhythms]
4. Y U QT – Fort Wibbler [Warehouse Raves]
5. CZR – Structure [Texture Recordings]
6. D’Menace – I’m Great-full [Defected Records]
7. Octo Octa – River
[fabric Records]
8. Vinyl Blair – Scratch N Sniff (The One Billion Dub Mix) [Hard Hands]
9. Continous Cool – Automatic [Cyber Records]
10. Global Method – Good Life (Orbital Mix) [White label]
11. DJ Hyperactive – Reptilian Tank [Strictly Hype Recordings / Contact]
12. Alec Falconer – New Junk City [EXT]
13. G.O.D. – Watch Ya Bass Bins [Urban Dubz Music]
14. Stevie B-Zet – Everlasting Pictures – Right Through Infinity – (Booker T.’s Everlasting
Klub Mix) [Eye Q Records]
15. X-press 2 – Say What! (London Underground Mix) [Junior Boys Own]
16. The Two Amigos – Everybody Get Up (Vocal Mix) [Footwork Records]
17. The Beatfreaks – Boo Dem [Undercover Artists]
18. Dr. Motte & Westbam – Sunshine [Low Spirit]
19. Marascia – Genetically Changed [No Label Records]
20. Eris Drew – Reactiv-8 [fabric Records]
21. Thursday Club – Dis Is Dis [TCR]

Weiter Beitrag

Zurück Beitrag

© 2024 Dr. Motte Blog

Thema von Anders Norén